Skip to main content

Courses now available - Visit Here

New Pump House at the Malta Film Studios


After announcing a €35 million Masterplan for the Malta Film Studios a few months ago, a new Pump House was inaugurated yesterday, which is considered a crucial element in the infrastructure for the water tanks at the Malta Film Studios.

The Pump House was inaugurated by Minister for Tourism Clayton Bartolo and Malta Film Commissioner Johann Grech, yesterday evening.

During this inauguration, a garden was commemorated for Narcy Calamatta, highlighting his substantial contribution to the Maltese film industry in Malta over the years.

Minister for Tourism and Consumer Protection Clayton Bartolo said that the Maltese film industry must be a living monument to more successes. “Having a rich history in film making for nearly 100 years, the Maltese Government is contributing significantly to Malta’s world-renowned film industry,” Minister Clayton Bartolo said.

The Minister added that this investment is just the beginning, and more projects, initiatives and incentives for the film industry are planned for the industry to grow and be further strengthened.


Malta Film Commissioner Johann Grech, said that during the four years of his administration, the Malta Film Commmission started a renewal process to Malta’s product offered to the global film industry. With a €35 million Masterplan for the Malta Film Studios and a vision to build a sustainable industry, with opportunities for the many not the few. Johann Grech added that this was possible due to the fact that the Malta Film Commission was not afraid to take the necessary decisions, even in challenging times.

“We are proud of our first hundred years of history. But today we are building the foundation for the next one hundred years. Our vision goes beyond our time. We are leading forward the future. For our children to lead ‘A World Class Film Industry’ in Malta.” concluded the Film Commissioner.

The event was also supported by the Palace String Orchestra and various artists including Gaia, AIDAN, Jasmine, Keith, Amber and Ozzy Lino, under the direction of Maestro Ryan Paul Abela.